Eyes like a shutter, mind like lens

“What I like about photographs is that they capture a moment thats gone forever and impossible to reproduce” – Karl Lagerfeld

Photography has always been something that I enjoyed, from the mere age of 13 I found myself taking my parents camera and snapping away, weather it pictures of my pet bird, my friends, my family or nature, I was always being scolded at for using too much film and later all the memory space on the digital.

Although I wouldn’t consider myself as a ‘photographer’, because I had (up until this past week) no idea how to use the manual function of a camera, I have always enjoyed taking photos, my Facebook page is a true representation of my over-enthusastic passion for taking photos, with over 3000 photos. (some being really shocking to say the least-I find myself scrolling through Facebook some nights deleting all the pointless ones)

The past week I have found myself being overly inqusitive with the manual function of the camera and I even made an impulsive purchase and bought a new lens. My host mom has recently started a blog of her own-Anchored and Gray– and has needed someone to take some photos of her outfits, this someone happened to be me. Taking photos of her has encouraged me to gain confidence in using the manual function an I managed to achieve some really great shots.

A special thanks to the following people for helping me tick off ‘Learn to shoot with my camera on manual’ on my bucket list:

– Matthew Moon

– Debbie Veysie

– Emelie Dahlbeck

IMG_5066

IMG_5117

IMG_5124

IMG_5318

IMG_5353

(photos taken by Me)

Screen Shot 2014-05-04 at 8.32.21 PM

 

Leave a Reply

